Emily | West Iron High School | Senior Class of 2016

“Do I have to wear makeup?”

That was the first thing Emily said to me when she arrived at her Senior shoot. Which made me laugh out loud, because it was such an Emily thing to say.

“No. Not if you don’t think it’s you.”

I’ve had the opportunity to work with Emily through community theater over the past year or so and I can tell you she’s wonderful. Intelligent, musically talented, ambitious, and naturally lovely. She isn’t fussy and when it came to planning this shoot her direction was simple: “Where ever you think is best. Whatever you think is best. Whatever you want to do”. It can’t get more easy going than this girl.

When I asked Emily if there was anything she wanted to include as a prop, however, she had an idea: a favorite book. I can’t recall a time that I’ve seen her without a book. At theater practices she’d read between scenes, discuss books while waiting in the wings, hide a book in her costume during dress rehearsals because books are basically a necessary and additional limb for her. I loved the idea.

So we met up. No make up. With the book. Sunset at Sunset Lake, which was natural and beautiful with lots of laughing. Just like Emily. IMG_3577

emily2

Emily1

IMG_3476

IMG_3475

emily3

IMG_3601

emily4

Leave a Reply

